Naga Babas


Nashik Maha Kumbh 2015

naga baba rampuri

Naga Babas

Naga Babas enjoy enormous respect in the Indian society as they have proved their devotion to god by choosing not wear any thread of cloth inspite of being based in the chilly cold base of Himalayas and have acclimatized their bodies to brave the biting cold of the Himalayas and the burning heat that characterizes the weather of North India both in summers and winters.

Naga babas or Naga sadhus as they are called in local language have taken a vow of celibacy as they have an implicit understanding of man-woman relationships. Deep-down they know the futility of a man –woman relationship and that education, marriage and travel are necessary evils that they have chosen not to embrace these evils.

Worshipping god as nature intended

babas of india

Naga babas have enormous stamina and they walk hundreds of kilometers to take a dip in the holy waters of Ganga, Yamuna, Godavari, and Shipra. Said to be the reincarnation of Lord Shiva, Naga Sadhus have earned enormous spiritual acclaim and thousands of devotees congregate at these places to avail the blessings of Naga Babas during the Kumbh Mela. Devotees include a lot of people from the Indian diaspora spread across, Asia, Europe, America, Australia and Africa’s.

Your Views